Do you add Awards and Certifications to your resume?

Awards

Awards are achievements that show your ability to excel in the workplace, and they can add value to your resume.

If you were working as a software engineer at a big tech company and you received two awards from your managers, you could have an Awards section on your resume.

To list an award, list the award name, award description, presenter name, title and company, and month and year.

If you don't have awards, that's okay, and you don't need to list awards on your resume in order to grab a recruiter's attention. They're simply a nice additive to list if you do receive one.


Certifications

Certifications are another area that can showcase your skills and achievements.

Certifications are often achieved through the completion of an online or in-person course or training.

I love taking courses on platforms like LinkedIn Learning and Udemy because they allow me to add a certification to my LinkedIn profile. These can show potential employers that you enjoy continued education, you're reliable and like to see your work through to the end.

Generally, you might need to list all of the details of a certification, such as the name, platform or company, year and month.

However, if you don't have a lot of room left on your resume or if you have a lot of certifications, you can simply state the name. If you omit these details, be prepared to answer questions about them during an interview.

If you're new to the industry or you're looking to switch industries and don't have a lot of work experience, certifications are a great way to learn new skills and showcase your enthusiasm for learning.


Conclusion

I used to list Awards and Certifications on my CV when applying for jobs after my Master's degree because I didn't have much work experience. But after some years of working, I don't list them on my resume anymore. I keep selected Awards and Certifications on my LinkedIn profile.